Alexandra Pringle

Alexandra Pringle is Editor-in-Chief of Bloomsbury Publishing. She began her career in publishing as Editorial Assistant on the art magazine Art Monthly.  She joined the feminist publishing company Virago Press in 1978 where she edited the Virago Modern Classics series. In 1984 she was made Editorial Director.  In 1990 she joined Hamish Hamilton as Editorial Director and four years later left publishing to become a literary agent. She joined Bloomsbury in 1999. Her list of authors includes Khaled Hosseini, George Saunders, Edward Said, Richard Ford, Susan Abulhawa, Esther Freud, William Boyd, Ahdaf Soueif, Ann Patchett, Jhumpa Lahiri, Margaret Atwood, Jay McInerney, Janine di Giovanni, Hanan al-Shaykh, Kamila Shamsie, Colum McCann, Patti Smith and Elizabeth Gilbert.  She is a Patron of Index on Censorship, has Honorary Degrees of Doctor of Letters from Anglia Ruskin University and Warwick University and is an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature.